top of page
  • Writer's pictureCandice W

Exploding Snowballs

This activity was so much fun, minimal prep and loaded with education! We worked on identifying colors, mixing colors, counting snowballs, pouring skills and of course ultimately this is a science experiment. Any time you bring together baking soda and vinegar, it’s going to be fun!


What you need:

1 cup of baking soda

1/4 cup water

Vinegar

Food coloring

Clear plastic cups


Step 1: Making the snowballs - All you have to do is pour the baking soda and water into a bowl, mix until combined and roll into small balls. if your mixture is wet or sticky, add a little more baking soda. Then I stuck them in the freezer for about 10 minutes to make sure they would hold their shape when Hunter picked them up. The longer you leave them in, the longer they will take to dissolve and I wanted them to dissolve pretty quickly.




Step 2: We have never talked about mixing colors to make other colors so I thought that would be a fun thing to incorporate in this activity. So, I only poured vinegar in 3 cups and dyed them the primary colors: red, blue and yellow. I added an empty cup to his tray for mixing and a dump cup for emptying. I did this close to a sink so I could rinse in between colors but you could also use extra cups.



Time to Play!

I did this in the high chair to contain the mess. I told Hunter we were going to pick 2 colors and pour them in the cup to see what happened! After we mixed 2 colors to make a new color, I would let him throw a snowball in to explode! He loved it! Then we emptied the cup and tried another color combination. We continued until all of the snowballs were gone. When it was done Hunter was yelling "More, balls!" so I knew it was a hit!

Hope your little one has fun with this colorful, science experiment!

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page