top of page
  • Writer's pictureCandice W

Indoor Toddler Activities

There was a lot of time indoors before summer hit this year and I fear that there may be a lot more to come this winter. Here are some fun indoor activities that Hunter really enjoyed.


Crayola Finger Painting Kit and Smock

This was a gift from Hunter's favorite aunt! He loves anything having to do with coloring. The set we got came with the smock but I can't find that one so I listed them separate. The smock is perfect though and definitely worth buying. It totally covers them for easy clean up! The paper has a shiny coating so that the paint doesn't soak through. Hunter wasn't a huge fan of touching the paint the first time so I gave him a paint brush, but since then he has embraced the finger paint a little more. I do this in the high chair to keep the potential mess contained. I also love an opportunity to learn and this is a great way to talk about colors!


Hunter Happiness Rating: 5/5

Mom Happiness Rating: 5/5

 

Sensory Water Beads


These are so much fun, even I couldn't stop playing with them!

Upon recommendation from my sister, I ordered Water Beads. There are a bunch on the market but I will link to the ones I bought. They come as tiny dots and when you soak them in water for 24 hours they turn into jelly-like balls. At first I didn't know what to do with them. I put them in a bowl and even that was fun to play with. He loved them so much that we eventually evolved and put it in a really big bucket with measuring cups, spoons, and bath toys! Hunter liked it so much he decided to climb in for the full experience! My sister put these in her water table. Great way to use the table in the cooler months. This kept his attention for a long time!


*Not great for babies that are still putting things in their mouths. Also, the beads are supposed to shrink back down but I left mine for a week and they never did.*



Hunter Happiness Rating: 5/5!

Mom Happiness Rating: 4/5 (These things were everywhere! Could be a lot of clean up for mom)

 

Kinetic Sand

This is the coolest thing! It's sand that sticks together so you can form it but almost "melts" when you squeeze it. This was another gift from Hunter's Aunt Stephie and he loved it. It isn't messy like sand because it sticks together so I like it to. The first time, I just put it in a bowl with some scoopers and he was happy as can be! Now we use play-doh cutters and animals on his tray. There are so many different ideas on how to play with this sand. You can really use anything. I don't like to link to something I haven't bought myself and since this was a gift, I am not sure of the exact one but there are a ton of them on amazon to choose from. They also come in different colors!


Hunter Happiness Rating: 5/5

Mom Happiness Rating: 5/5

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page