top of page
  • Writer's pictureCandice W

Make-Your-Own Mexican Bowls

I am all for any meal that can be customized to my liking! These bowls are easy and can be adapted in so many ways! I honestly can't remember what made me look at the fajita seasoning pack for the first time but when I did, I was pretty surprised by what I saw. I don't want to bash any companies so I won't say the brand, but the ingredients included things like maltodextrin, silicon dioxide, artificial color. Artificial color? It's brown and not exactly pretty. hmmm. Not exactly what I expected to find in a seasoning packet. The more I learn, the more I try to eat real food and ingredients that I know and can pronounce.


Anyway, it really started to bother me so I looked into making my own fajita seasoning. I found a great recipe which in fact does contain ingredients you would actually find on a spice rack! I make a batch and keep it in a bottle so it is ready to go all the time! I don't usually have a lot of time to make dinner so it is really helpful to have this pre-made. These are the ingredients you need and I have attached the recipe below. I use smoked paprika in mine to make it even more flavorful but I tried the original recipe and they are both great! The pinning mama has a bunch of homemade seasoning recipes. I never want to recommend something that I haven't tried myself but if they are anything like her fajita seasoning, I'm sure they are great! You can find them on her website below.



We use this recipe to season our meat and veggies. Here are some things we put out for Make-Your-Own Mexican Bowls but you can really put anything and do this with all different seasonings! I think kids are more likely to eat their dinner when they get to choose what goes on their plate and with these healthy choices, they can't go wrong!

  • Chicken, Steak or Shrimp

  • Quinoa

  • Brown Rice or Cauliflower Rice

  • Avocado

  • Tomatoes

  • Corn

  • Peppers & Onions

  • Cheese

  • Salsa

  • Mixed greens

  • Scallions.







Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page