top of page
  • Writer's pictureCandice W

Repurposing Broken Crayons

I'm not sure about you but we have tons of broken crayons! Hunter breaks them all the time! Keep them!! This is so easy and fun! All you need is a silicone mold and your broken crayons. The first time I made them, I cut the pieces small and combined all of the colors randomly. Here is how they came out:



The second time I made them, I only made them small enough to fit in the mold and kept similar colors together. For this method, after about 10 minutes, I added more crayons to fill the mold. Here is how those came out:


Here is what you have to do:

I use a razor to cut the paper off of the crayons, which makes it much quicker than trying to peel them all. Although if you want to include your toddler, you can have them help peel the paper. I like to make these in my toaster oven. I place my silicone mold on the toaster oven tray to keep it flat and balanced. Bake at 200° F for 20-25 minutes. If necessary, add more crayons halfway through to fill the mold. Once fully melted, I turn the toaster off and leave the tray in there until they cool. If you take them out right away, you have to hold it very steady or the wax will spill. I learned this the hard way! Once fully cooled, you can pop them out of the mold. That's it!


Hunter uses these car and truck crayons to race and color! Hope your little ones enjoy them too!

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page